book review 02: clockwork angel (spoilers)

Title: Clockwork Angel

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Fantasy

Synopsis: In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them… (source)

First thing to get out of the way: DEFINITELY could have been better…

after finishing the book I felt like I was now obligated to read the next one… it left on such a heartbreaking ending…

also after reading it, I look back at it and realize that it was a very short book… or at least there is only one main thing that is memorable (which is different from the Harry Potter series). It was all very directed to one plot and didn’t have any mini plots in it to make it more complicated. I guess since I’m used to having mini plots, I don’t really like that part of this book, but overall it had a nice twist.

okay now the big thing: WILL!

AAARRGGHHH! he’s so…. GGGGGAAAHHHHH!!!!

I don’t even have any words! He has such kind feelings but he completely blocks it with his weird hardened personality. And what annoys me is how Tessa just goes back to him every single time and he never takes the chance to approach her first! And that ending between them when they’re in the attic at the end of the book. What he said was so harsh and almost (in a sense) racist. Of course it wasn’t like actually racist but he basically said: ‘I want to mess around with you but I don’t want to be with you and marry you, etc. since you’re a demon and I’m a Shadowhunter, which a more privileged title, and demons are trash and inferior. Oh also since you can’t have kids I definitely don’t want to be with you… After the little time you’ve been with us you didn’t know about the fact that you’re sterile? I’m not saying sorry, go to Jem.

IT’S SO ANNOYING! And then he goes to Magnus Bane for something and I can ONLY GUESS WHAT HE’S ASKING! (an antilove potion perhaps??!!) IF YOU LOVE HER, YOU HAVE TO TELL HER! YOU HAVE TO BE WILLING TO TAKE THAT CHANCE! Maybe it’s because I don’t know the full story but the fact that he might be going for an antilove potion is so dumb! Love is so precious (and very rare, considering how many people in this world actually LOVE another person) and the fact that he wants to just throw it away by using this potion (drug like substance to alter his mind) is disgusting!

ok… *deep breath* Jem…

He’s definitely more nice and he wants to help, but I also feel like he talks softly and he’s kind of just … there… he doesn’t put a huge impact on anything because you think he likes Tessa but Sophie (I think? I can’t remember) likes him and he just nice in general so you can assume, and ALSO Tessa likes Will, unless she decides to like two people at once… So he’s a confusing, main but slightly unmemorable and just “always appearing” character.

I really don’t like Nathaniel…

Tessa cares too much and she needs to back up just a little sometimes…

Overall, at the end it wasn’t as disappointing as I thought it would be which means I can read the rest of the series! I was secretly hoping I would like it because it looks like such a good series and she’s built on the realm so widely that I want to be a part of it and explore it… hopefully the rest will be amazing…

FINAL: 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

