movie review 03: rogue one (no spoilers)

Title: Rogue One

Director: Gareth Edwards

Genre: Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi

Rating: PG-13

Date Released: 16 December 2016

Synopsis: Jyn Erso, a Rebellion soldier and criminal, is about to experience her biggest challenge yet when Mon Mothma sets her out on a mission to steal the plans for the Death Star. With help from the Rebels, a master swordsman, and non-allied forces, Jyn will be in for something bigger than she thinks. (source)

One thing I am going to set straight: I was NEVER a Star Wars fan!

Second thing I am going to set straight: I WAS never a Star Wars fan…

After the new 7th movie that came out last year, I wasn’t planning on watching this movie. Especially after watching the trailers and hearing the main character say, “This is a rebellion isn’t it, I rebel”, I wanted to cringe. Even after some of my friends watched the movie, I asked what they thought of it and whether it was worth watching. Their reactions weren’t helpful. They said it was much better than the 7th movie by far, which was a good reaction but, personally, I don’t think it takes much for a movie to be better than the 7th movie. They said there was more action and was a “traditional Star Wars movie”. As I said, I never liked Star Wars movies and wasn’t ever a big fan so when I heard that I was telling myself that I would probably watch it last minute once everyone has watched it and it was only playing in the smallest theater.

Third thing I am going to set straight: I WAS WRONG!

You don’t understand how much I wish I had watched it on opening night, but this movie was absolutely mind blowing. The ending will  okay no… I’m going to start from top to bottom.

So the beginning was a bit slow and I was wondering whether I regretted coming to the theater to watch it. The action almost immediately started but for me I was a bit confused and it was almost like I was just watching a movie, hoping I would enjoy it just because I put money into watching it. As the movie began to progress the plot began to become more intense and everything started to fit in, especially since everyone knew this was the movie between the 3rd and 4th Star Wars movie. I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THE ASIAN FIGHTER! I won’t give away any details, but BE PREPARED! (that probably gave a lot away lol). The ending… the ending… *whisper* the ending…

The ending will utterly and absolutely C-R-U-S-H   Y-O-U!!!

I was not ready for that ending and I don’t think anything would have prepared me for the ending. I think the only reason I loved the ending was because it was so real. It was reality and most movies don’t end this powerfully. Additionally, I DON’T LIKE STAR WARS MOVIES BECAUSE EVERY DEATH IS SO PERSONAL AND IT HURTS! I don’t know how the directors do it, but even the death of a fighter just hurts to watch because they are fighting for what they believe in and they have lives and they are people who want a better world and they are willing to die for it. Try to name another movie or book where deaths hurt this bad (other than Harry Potter). I’ll wait….

It is absolutely crushing.

Now the characters… I really liked how they used a more mature actress for the main character because I think it brought more feeling into the movie unlike Rey, and don’t get me wrong, I loved how Rey was good at everything and she was a girl which made it even better (I’m not a total feminist, but I like to see some sort of equality where it can happen).Some people might say that having an older actress may imply to teenagers to look like that when they reach a certain age (often from 16 years old to 18 years old), but I think in this case it shows so much more than that. I won’t give anything away, but in every movie there is some sort of sacrifice and having a more experienced actress brought that sacrifice and loss feeling much more powerfully than any young actress could have done… I think.

It’s very difficult to try to explain how I feel about the movie without giving away spoilers, but it is definitely a movie I would recommend to everyone because it is so relatable to the world on so many aspects. I have truly started to become a Star Wars fanatic which I thought I would never say. I really think everyone should watch it and analyze it in different views and ways because the movie itself is so deep and I don’t think they could have done a better job of portraying what needed to be portrayed.

It. Was. Beautiful.

“I am with the Force and the Force is with me”

FINAL: 7/5

*extra point for being a movie that truly reflects the world’s history and the amount of sacrifice that goes into it

*extra point for being an absolutely beautiful film

 

Leave a Reply

