movie review 02: fantastic beasts and where to find them (no spoilers)

Title: Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them

Director: David Yates

Genre: Adventure, Family, Fantasy

Rating: PG-13

Date Released: 18 November 2016

Synopsis: The year is 1926 and Newt Scamander has just completed a global excursion to find and document an extraordinary array of magical creatures. Arriving in New York for a brief stopover, he might have come and gone without incident…were it not for a No-Maj (American for Muggle) named Jacob, a misplaced magical case, and the escape of some of Newt’s fantastic beasts, which could spell trouble for both the wizarding and No-Maj worlds. (source)

HARRY POTTER WORLD FANDOM HAS COME BACK TO LIFE!!!!!

J.K. Rowling is seriously the most amazing writer/author/scriptwriter/(basically everything)! I was worried this movie would be disappointing because we all already have standards and that’s the wizarding world in England, but this movie absolutely NAILED IT! It created this new world, so it’s like moving to a different country: you have a standard on what you normally are used to, but then when you move there, there’s so many new things and new designs and new everything that it just adds to what you’re normally used to! There were so many little clues in the movie that I noticed and immediately my Harry Potter fanaticyness kicked in! I even squealed so loudly in the beginning when the music came on that everyone started clapping and screaming and whooping with me! HAHAHA!

Literally EVERYTHING was incorporated into this movie. It had a touch of romance, AMAZING imagination involved (WELL DONE CGI PEOPLE!), tons of cute moments, HYSTERICAL at times, and sometimes even scary and suspenseful. The plot was also mind-blowing! I NEEED J.K. ROWLING TO CREATE ANOTHER BOOK SERIES LIKE HARRY POTTER, BUT FOR ILVERMORNY! I am absolutely in love with all of the movie!

There were a lot of American elements involved too, like the music was a lot more “old-fashioned American”-ized and the fashion as well. Eddie Redmayne was absolutely stunning and incredible in this film! (not to mention he’s a Hufflepuff like me so WHOO! extra point for that!).

One small factor that I was disappointed in was Grindewald: Johnny Depp. I didn’t expect him to look like (TEENY TINY SPOILER UP AHEAD) Jack Frost. I expected him to have blonde hair that was a little long on one side and messy with almost like crazy eyes. I’m not exactly sure what I expected them to come up with but it wasn’t that.

OVERALL! IT WAS AN AMAZING FILM AND I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT TO EVERY. SINGLE. HARRY. POTTER. FAN. OUT. THERE! AND EVERYONE ELSE FOR THAT MATTER! I am actually planning on seeing it again because 1.) it was AMAZING and 2.) my sister lost our tickets at the end of the movie so I couldn’t keep it! Which is super sad because I wanted to keep it! I’m gonna make my own ticket tho so then it can fill in for the one my sister lost AND since I’m going again I ‘m going to keep the new ticket as well :)))

I’ll post a spoiler filled review later on once everyone’s got the chance to see it and then we can all have a huge discussion over it if you guys are willing to do that!

FINAL: 7/5

*extra point for him being a Hufflepuff (and super cute ;))
*extra point for being a Harry Potter spin-off film
Leave a Reply

