book review 01: the 5th wave (spoilers)

Title: The 5th Wave

Author: Rick Yancey

Genre: Science Fiction

Synopsis: After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. (source)

Okay. This book is… good.

I was iffy about reading this book at first because I had written “a book” (because in my spare time I write stories 😁 ) for literally 5 years very similar to this book.

In my book, it was basically an alien apocalypse with 6 different phases. The aliens don’t have a definite form, almost like a spirit, so instead they take the form of certain “things”. So Phase 1, they came in the form of electricity and use it to their advantage/weapon. Phase 2 was Nature, so using the weather (hurricanes, tsunamis, earthquakes, etc.), plants, and animals. Phase 4 was a plague where you died in less than a week. Phase 5 was Memories. They’d be able to control your brain and use your memories against you in order to basically destroy yourself mentally; so, it’s almost like a mental disease. Phase 6 was inhabiting human bodies as hosts and (simply said): killing everyone.

Yeah, if you already read The 5th Wave it is SUPER SIMILAR! Sorry I just gave you a summary of my own “book” and not the actual book I’m reviewing.

[Beginning of the actual review starts here!]

Sooooo…after hearing so much about The 5th Wave and seeing it all over bookstagram I knew I had to give it a chance.

I was disappointed…

Fact: I’m a huge fan over science fiction so I knew this book would have to go somewhere on my top 20… but it didn’t. Ringer is most definitely my favorite because she’s so tough and she doesn’t let anything get in her way… when an apocalypse comes everyone should be acting like her in order to survive. Ben is just that jock we all want to date (c’mon if we all have a Ben in our lives). I like Ben because throughout the book he stays determined without wanting to be captain of the team… so he’s also modest, which is always a plus. Okay… Cassie. Personally, I’m not a huge fan of her. In beginning she talked about how much she’d changed so when I read that I expected this huge transformation from her past self to her current self. I was wrong. At first she definitely seemed tougher and I can understand that aliens coming and ruining your life is obviously hard to cope with, but she meets Evan and everything just falls apart. The world is literally falling apart for the humans because of the arrival of the aliens, but instead she’s starting to like Evan?! Like really! You have a brother that isn’t in your sight so he might be in danger or possibly dead (especially since she saw everyone get slaughtered at the camp and those same people who murdered them took your brother to a “safe place”). If I had a brother and he was taken to a “safe place” that was run by murderers I’d be worried sick every minute, wondering if he’s still okay. Maybe it’s just because a character like Ringer is in the book, which makes it easy to compare Cassie with Ringer who is way tougher than her. Next: Evan Walker. I love Evan Walker’s role in the book: how he’s an alien that starts to feel love and begins to realize that he wants to help humanity. What I didn’t like about him was that even though he’s part of a more sophisticated and smart society, he can’t even cover up his tracks! Cassie was able to find out that he was an alien and questioned it even from the beginning. So I’m not sure if that was because Evan wanted her to notice and gave lousy excuses so that she would figure out herself because he didn’t have the guts to tell her (breath) OR if he was just being ignorant. This also goes for the entire base camp that showcased their ability to use electricity and turned on the lights while pulling in bright yellow school buses full of children in front of all the alien drones without getting “caught”.

Rick Yancey had a good concept going but there was just way too much to fit in one book. If you look at the entire series, you immediately notice that The 5th Wave is much bigger than the other books (which I haven’t read yet, so I’m not going to judge) so I feel like he could have somehow stretched it out. (Additionally, this could have been an amazing tv show and everything could have been more stretched out–which would have made up of the book– but instead it became a movie which got a 16% on Rotten Tomatoes)

In the end, this book had no impact on me. Usually if I read a really good book I remember everything and I have the urge to read it again, but for this book I wouldn’t immediately go for it. I’d have to look at it for a few minutes before deciding to read certain sections of the book that were pretty interesting.

Overall, it had the potential to be really good, but it was definitely disappointing. This might just because I had the same idea and I was just hoping for more.

Final: 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

